Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. All members of the Council are required to complete a register of interests form.

South Somerset District Council is made up of 60 locally elected members - As of the local elections held on 2 May 2019 - 41 Liberal Democrats, 15 Conservatives and 4 Independents.

Our Leader and Chairman
Council Leader: Cllr Val Keitch (from 01/09/2018).
Council Chairman: Cllr Paul Maxwell. Vice Chairman: Cllr Jenny Kenton.
Leader of the Opposition (Conservative Party): Cllr Linda Vijeh.
Deputy Leader of the Conservative Party: Cllr Nick Colbert.
Leader of the Independents: Cllr Dave Bulmer.

To find your councillor please use the links below:
Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Jason Baker

Councillor Jason Baker

4 High Street, Chard, Somerset, TA20 1QB

Home mobile: 07736 310805

Work: jason.baker@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Chard Holyrood
photo of Councillor Robin Bastable

Councillor Robin Bastable

Southmarsh Farm, Charlton Musgrove, Somerset, BA9 8HW

Home mobile: 07976 317179

Work: robin.bastable@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Tower
photo of Councillor Mike Best

Councillor Mike Best

186 Park View, CREWKERNE, TA18 8JH

Home: 01460 74245

Home: mike.best@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Crewkerne
photo of Councillor Neil Bloomfield

Councillor Neil Bloomfield

4 Lawson Terrace, Martock, Somerset, TA12 6EP

Home mobile: 07545 951917

Work: neil.bloomfield@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Martock
photo of Councillor Dave Bulmer

Councillor Dave Bulmer

2 Silver Street, CHARD, TA20 2AY

Home mobile: 07774 523661

Work: dave.bulmer@southsomerset.gov.uk

Independent Chard Jocelyn
photo of Councillor Hayward Burt

Councillor Hayward Burt

9 Casterbridge Place, Templecombe, Somerset, BA8 0AF

Home mobile: 07543 854391

Work: hayward.burt@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Blackmoor Vale
photo of Councillor Tony Capozzoli

Councillor Tony Capozzoli

5 Church Street, Ilchester, YEOVIL, BA22 8LW

Home: 01935 840011

Work: tony.capozzoli@southsomerset.gov.uk

Independent Northstone, Ivelchester & St Michael's
photo of Councillor Martin Carnell

Councillor Martin Carnell

24 Nursery Gardens, Chard, Somerset, TA20 1HH

Home mobile: 07411 696725

Work: martin.carnell@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Chard Crimchard
photo of Councillor Malcolm Cavill

Councillor Malcolm Cavill

Rowsalls, Beercrocombe, Taunton, Somerset, TA3 6AJ

Work: 01823 481335

Work: malcolm.cavill@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Islemoor
photo of Councillor John Clark

Councillor John Clark

10 Summerlands, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 3AL

Home: 01935 425689

Work: john.clark@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Summerlands
photo of Councillor Nicola Clark

Councillor Nicola Clark

5 Silver Street, Stoford, Yeovil, Somerset, BA22 9UF

Home mobile: 07429 831737

Work: nicola.clark@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Coker
photo of Councillor Louise Clarke

Councillor Louise Clarke

75 Stapleton Close, Martock, Somerset, TA12 6HT

Home mobile: 07467 390410

Work: louise.clarke@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Martock
photo of Councillor Nick Colbert

Councillor Nick Colbert

Lyndhurst, Burrowfield, BRUTON, BA10 0HH

Home mobile: 07748324508

Home: nick.colbert@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Wincanton
photo of Councillor Adam Dance

Councillor Adam Dance

19 South Street, South Petherton, Somerset, TA13 3AE

Home mobile: 07767 224213

Work: adam.dance@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats South Petherton
photo of Councillor Sarah Dyke

Councillor Sarah Dyke

The Rising Sun, Cucklington, Wincanton, Somerset, BA9 9PY

Home mobile: 07979 535542

Work: sarah.dyke@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Milborne Port
photo of Councillor Karl Gill

Councillor Karl Gill

44 Westbourne Grove, Yeovil, Somerset, BA20 2DQ

Home mobile: 07809 401488

Work: karl.gill@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Westland
photo of Councillor David Gubbins

Councillor David Gubbins

2 Hayes End, South Petherton, Somerset, TA13 5AG

Home mobile: 07885 976886

Work: david.gubbins@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Westland
photo of Councillor Peter Gubbins

Councillor Peter Gubbins

1 Holywell Hollow, Halves Lane, East Coker, YEOVIL, BA22 9NG

Home: 01935 862062

Home: peter.gubbins@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil College
photo of Councillor Brian Hamilton

Councillor Brian Hamilton

9 Greenfylde Close, Ilminster, Somerset, TA19 9FJ

Home: 01460 53918

Work: brian.hamilton@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ilminster
photo of Councillor Mike Hewitson

Councillor Mike Hewitson

30 Church Street, Merriott, Somerset, TA16 5PS

Home mobile: 07970 012539

Work: mike.hewitson@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Hamdon
photo of Councillor Henry Hobhouse

Councillor Henry Hobhouse

1 The Courtyard, Cary Road, North Cadbury, YEOVIL, BA22 7DJ

Home mobile: 07970 867108

Work: henry.hobhouse@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Cary
photo of Councillor Ben Hodgson

Councillor Ben Hodgson

26 Hermitage Street, Crewkerne, Somerset, TA18 8ES

Home mobile: 07340 878019

Work: ben.hodgson@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Crewkerne
photo of Councillor Charlie Hull

Councillor Charlie Hull

Footsteps, High Street, Charlton Adam, Somerton, Somerset, TA11 7AR

Home mobile: 07979 917882

Work: charlie.hull@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Northstone, Ivelchester & St Michael's
photo of Councillor Kaysar Hussain

Councillor Kaysar Hussain

12 Roping Road, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 4BD

Home mobile: 07708 836635

Work: kaysar.hussain@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil College
photo of Councillor Val Keitch

Councillor Val Keitch

Leader of Council

1 Heron Way, Ilminster, Somerset, TA19 0BX

Home mobile: 07850 967503

Work: val.keitch@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ilminster
photo of Councillor Andy Kendall

Councillor Andy Kendall

41 Coronation Avenue, YEOVIL, BA21 3DZ

Home: 01935 421792

Home: andy.kendall@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil College
photo of Councillor Jenny Kenton

Councillor Jenny Kenton

Vice Chairman of Council

89 Holyrood Street, Chard, Somerset, TA20 2EA

Home mobile: 07921 574019

Work: jenny.kenton@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Blackdown & Tatworth
photo of Councillor Tim Kerley

Councillor Tim Kerley

43 Pinewood, Somerton, Somerset, TA11 6JW

Home mobile: 07949 798507

Work: tim.kerley@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Wessex
photo of Councillor Mike Lewis

Councillor Mike Lewis

The Gatehouse, Church Path, Queen Camel, Somerset, BA22 7NX

Home: 01935 851536

Work: michael.lewis@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Camelot
photo of Councillor Mike Lock

Councillor Mike Lock

Poplars Farm, Yeovil Marsh, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 3QN

Home: 01935 474089

Work: mike.lock@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Without
photo of Councillor Pauline Lock

Councillor Pauline Lock

Poplars Farm, Yeovil Marsh, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 3QN

Home mobile: 07881 756530

Work: pauline.lock@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Summerlands
photo of Councillor Tony Lock

Councillor Tony Lock

71 St Michael's Road, YEOVIL, BA21 5AH

Home: 01935 700061

Work: tony.lock@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Lyde
photo of Councillor Paul Maxwell

Councillor Paul Maxwell

Chairman of Council

Chapel Cottage, Court Mill Lane, Merriott, CREWKERNE, TA16 5NL

Home: 01460 271155

Home mobile: 07766 917 049

Work: paul.maxwell@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Eggwood
photo of Councillor Kevin Messenger

Councillor Kevin Messenger

Bay Tree, South Street, Castle Cary, Somerset, BA7 7ET

Home mobile: 07969 150646

Work: kevin.messenger@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Cary
photo of Councillor Tricia O'Brien

Councillor Tricia O'Brien

2 Phoenix Courtyard, Fore Street, Chard, Somerset, TA20 1FE

Home mobile: 07950 474629

Work: tricia.obrien@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Chard Combe
photo of Councillor Graham Oakes

Councillor Graham Oakes

184 St Michael's Avenue, YEOVIL, BA21 4LX

Home mobile: 07904 992491

Work: graham.oakes@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Without
photo of Councillor Sue Osborne

Councillor Sue Osborne

Oxenford Farm Cottage, Dowlish Wake, ILMINSTER, TA19 0PP

Home mobile: 07843 341 603

Home: sue.osborne@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Windwhistle
photo of Councillor Tiffany Osborne

Councillor Tiffany Osborne

Morningside, Stoney Lane, Curry Rivel, Langport, Somerset, TA10 0HY

Home mobile: 07876 565546

Work: tiffany.osborne@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Curry Rivel, Huish & Langport
photo of Councillor Robin Pailthorpe

Councillor Robin Pailthorpe

87a South Street, Crewkerne, Somerset, TA18 8AA

Home mobile: 07835 711 073

Work: robin.pailthorpe@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Crewkerne
photo of Councillor Clare Paul

Councillor Clare Paul

Tuppence House, Stembridge, Martock, Somerset, TA12 6BP

Work mobile: 07879 423117

Work: clare.paul@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Curry Rivel, Huish & Langport
photo of Councillor Crispin Raikes

Councillor Crispin Raikes

11 St James Street, South Petherton, Somerset, TA13 5BS

Home mobile: 07968 291588

Work: crispin.raikes@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats South Petherton
photo of Councillor Wes Read

Councillor Wes Read

Wellcombe House, Ilchester Road, YEOVIL, BA21 3BL

Home mobile: 07971 030005

Home: wes.read@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Summerlands
photo of Councillor David Recardo

Councillor David Recardo

83 Lyde Road, YEOVIL, BA21 5DH

Work: david.recardo@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Lyde
photo of Councillor Paul Rowsell

Councillor Paul Rowsell

The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, Chilthorne Domer, Yeovil, Somerset, BA22 8RE

Work: paul.rowsell@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Northstone, Ivelchester & St Michael's
photo of Councillor Dean Ruddle

Councillor Dean Ruddle

Freshfields, Cartway Lane, Langport Road,, Somerton, Somerset, TA11 6JH

Home mobile: 07976 556054

Work: dean.ruddle@southsomerset.gov.uk

Independent Wessex
photo of Councillor Gina Seaton

Councillor Gina Seaton

The Hall, 1 High Street, West Coker, YEOVIL, BA22 9AG

Home: 01935 862233

Home: gina.seaton@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Coker
photo of Councillor Peter Seib

Councillor Peter Seib

Deputy Leader of Council

11 Forde Park, YEOVIL, BA21 3QP

Home mobile: 07970 194710

Home: peter.seib@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Brympton
photo of Councillor Garry Shortland

Councillor Garry Shortland

Hillside, Forton Road, Chard, Somerset, TA20 2HS

Home mobile: 07982 591025

Work: garry.shortland@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Chard Avishayes
photo of Councillor Alan Smith

Councillor Alan Smith

241 South Street, Crewkerne, Somerset, TA18 8AE

Home: 01460 77739

Work: alan.smith@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Brympton
photo of Councillor Jeny Snell

Councillor Jeny Snell

18 Fosse Way, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 3UQ

Home mobile: 07956 442131

Work: jeny.snell@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Brympton
photo of Councillor Andy Soughton

Councillor Andy Soughton

40 Richmond Road, Yeovil, Somerset, BA20 1BA

Home mobile: 07894 879248

Work: andy.soughton@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Westland
photo of Councillor Mike Stanton

Councillor Mike Stanton

King's Pleasure, 24 Silver Street, South Petherton, Somerset, TA13 5BZ

Home mobile: 07802 472160

Work: mike.stanton@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burrow Hill
photo of Councillor Rob Stickland

Councillor Rob Stickland

33 Eastville, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 4JD

Home mobile: 07850 264406

Work: rob.stickland@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Yeovil Without
photo of Councillor Lucy Trimnell

Councillor Lucy Trimnell

43 Cuckoo Hill, Bruton, Somerset, BA10 0AF

Home mobile: 07584 063844

Work: lucy.trimnell@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Bruton
photo of Councillor Gerard Tucker

Councillor Gerard Tucker

Langata, High Street, Aller, Langport, TA10 0QN

Home mobile: 07854 379938

Work: gerard.tucker@southsomerset.gov.uk

Independent Turn Hill
photo of Councillor Anthony Vaughan

Councillor Anthony Vaughan

Corner Cottage, Lower Chillington, Ilminster, Somerset, TA19 0PU

Home mobile: 07506 285049

Work: anthony.vaughan@southsomerset.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Parrett
photo of Councillor Linda Vijeh

Councillor Linda Vijeh

3 Rectory Court, Vicarage Hill, Combe St Nicholas, CHARD, TA20 3NE

Home mobile: 07971 785069

Work: linda.vijeh@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Neroche
photo of Councillor Martin Wale

Councillor Martin Wale

Foxdon Cottage, Foxdon Hill, Wadeford, CHARD, TA20 3AN

Work: 01460 65190

Work: martin.wale@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Blackdown & Tatworth
photo of Councillor William Wallace

Councillor William Wallace

Lemons Ground, Yenston, TEMPLECOMBE, BA8 0NG

Home: 01963 370423

Home: william.wallace@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Blackmoor Vale
photo of Councillor Colin Winder

Councillor Colin Winder

2 Mill Street, WINCANTON, BA9 9AP

Home: 01963 33462

Work: colin.winder@southsomerset.gov.uk

Conservative Party Wincanton