Committee structure

Please note there are no meetings of any committees of South Somerset District Council after 31 March 2023.


Until the end of March 2023 - All 60 members met as the Full Council on at least six occasions every year. The full council agreed major policies, the annual budget/level of council tax and approved the constitutional arrangements.

District Executive

Until the end of March 2023 - The District Executive had responsibility for all resource and policy decisions within a framework agreed by the council. The ten member executive, also known as the ‘cabinet’, gave strategic direction to the council. It was made up of the portfolio holders, who were responsible for the achievement of our corporate aims.

Area Committees

Until the end of March 2023 – There were four Area Committees (North, South, East and West), which worked closely with their local communities, allowing Planning and other issues to be decided at a local level. Area Committees formed part of our ambitious and nationally acclaimed framework for Area Working.


Area Committees took decisions in public on significant planning applications, grants for local projects, discussed issues of interest and priority to the local area, and enabled residents to get involved in local decision-making.

Scrutiny Committee

Until the end of March 2023 - the Scrutiny Committee monitored and scrutinised our performance as a whole as well as individual services. It could also make recommendations for any issue which the Council was responsible for and which affected the local community.

Audit Committee

Until the end of March 2023 – the Audit Committee monitored the effectiveness of our risk management arrangements, the control environment (ranging from standing orders, financial procedures, service plans etc) and made recommendations in respect of corporate governance matters.

Licensing Committee

Until the end of March 2023 - the Licensing Committee was responsible for our licensing functions. Most day-to-day licensing matters (premises licences, taxi licensing etc) were delegated to officers but the committee had responsibility for overseeing the functions under the Licensing Act 2003 and related licensing matters.

Licensing Sub-Committee

Until the end of March 2023 - the Licensing Sub-Committee was made up of three members from the Licensing Committee. The sub-committee had been established under the Licensing Act 2003, with the power to hear and determine all applications referred to it under our Statement of Licensing Policy. The Sub-Committee  also considered taxi driver applications, which needed to be referred to members due to the nature of the application.

Regulation Committee

Until the end of March 2023 - the Regulation Committee determined planning applications referred by Area Committees. The full scheme for referral of planning applications is set out in the Councils Constitution.

Standards Committee

Until the end of March 2023 -  the Standards Committee had responsibility for the promotion and maintenance of good conduct by both district and parish councillors.