Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. All members of the Council are required to complete a register of interests form.

South Somerset District Council is made up of 60 locally elected members - 40 Liberal Democrats, 12 Conservatives, 6 Independents, 1 Green, and 1 vacancy (as of 4 March 2023).

Our Leader and Chairman
Council Leader: Cllr Val Keitch (from 01/09/2018).
Council Chairman: Cllr Paul Maxwell. Vice Chairman: Cllr Wes Read.
Leader of the Opposition (Conservative Party): Cllr Martin Wale.
Deputy Leader of the Conservative Party: Cllr Sue Osborne.
Leader of the Independents: Cllr Dave Bulmer.

To find your councillor please use the links below: