Your Councillors by Ward

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. All members of the Council are required to complete a register of interests form.

South Somerset District Council is made up of 60 locally elected members - 40 Liberal Democrats, 14 Conservatives, 5 Independents and 1 Green (as at 6 May 2020).

Our Leader and Chairman
Council Leader: Cllr Val Keitch (from 01/09/2018).
Council Chairman: Cllr Paul Maxwell. Vice Chairman: Cllr Wes Read.
Leader of the Opposition (Conservative Party): Cllr Linda Vijeh.
Deputy Leader of the Conservative Party: Cllr Nick Colbert.
Leader of the Independents: Cllr Dave Bulmer.

To find your councillor please use the links below:

 Blackdown & Tatworth

 Blackmoor Vale



 Burrow Hill



 Chard Avishayes

 Chard Combe

 Chard Crimchard

 Chard Holyrood

 Chard Jocelyn



 Curry Rivel, Huish & Langport






 Milborne Port


 Northstone, Ivelchester & St Michael's


 South Petherton


 Turn Hill




 Yeovil College

 Yeovil Lyde

 Yeovil Summerlands

 Yeovil Westland

 Yeovil Without